Skip to main content

The Intelligencer – New Wheeling Hall of Fame Class Inducted

By September 20, 2021Uncategorized

WHEELING — Some of the most influential people in the fields of industry, education, public service, entertainment and other fields in Wheeling history gained official entry Friday night in a prestigious and exclusive club.

Ten new members of the Wheeling Hall of Fame were inducted Friday night in the biennial ceremony held at WesBanco Arena.

Robert DeFrancis, chairman of the Wheeling Hall of Fame board, said the event always is a memorable one.

“At the end of it, invariably, we know we have done our jobs right,” he said.

Friday’s inductees included Ziegenfelder Company’s former president and CEO and current board chairman Lisa Allen; Karla Boos, who founded Pittsburgh’s Quantum Theatre in 1990; philanthropist J.B. Chambers, whose name adorns many projects throughout the city; Ron DiLorenzo, former Wheeling Park High School dean of students and chair of the guidance department; historic preservationist Beverly Fluty; longtime Wheeling Intelligencer sports editor and sports historian Doug Huff; Don Levenson, founder of the Wheeling Antenna Company, or WACO; Hugh Stobbs, founder and longtime race director of the Elby’s Classic Distance Race, now the Ogden Newspapers Half-Marathon Classic; renowned singer and musician B.E. Taylor; and the Rev. Bonnie Thurston, a noted pastor, scholar, author and poet.

Derek Redd, The Intelligencer

Read full article

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.